mercredi 27 juin 2012

Speculative Fiction Award Announcements – At Home and Abroad

Several awards covering speculative fiction genres have been announced recently.  The Australian Science Fiction Achievement Awards and the Victorian-based Chronos Awards were presented at the 51st Annual Australian National SF Convention in Melbourne in early June. The Australian Science Fiction Achievement Awards, colloquially known as the Ditmar Awards, ‘honour excellence in Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror’, while the Chronos Awards honour excellence for Victorian writers across the same genres.

In the Ditmar Awards, Kim Westwood’s The Courier’s New Bicycle, set in a post-pandemic Melbourne, won Best Novel. The late Paul Haines received the Best Collected Work Award for The Last Days of Kali Yuga and the Best Novella or Novelette Award for 'The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt' (published in Last Days). The same two works won, respectively, Best Long Fiction and Best Short Fiction in the Chronos Awards.
In the US, readers of Locus Magazine voted Shaun Tan the year’s best artist in the Locus Awards. The awards began in the 1970s ‘specifically to provide recommendations and suggestions to Hugo Awards voters’. Another Australian featuring in the 2012 Locus Awards shortlists was Jonathan Strahan. Strahan was nominated twice in the Anthology category — for the fourth issue of Eclipse: New Science Fiction and Fantasy and for the ‘hard’ science fiction collection Engineering Infinity. He was also a finalist for the best editor.
Full details of the Ditmar and Chronos Awards can be found on the Continuum website; more information on the 2012 Locus Awards is available at Locus Online.
Source Austlit.

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire

Remarque : Seul un membre de ce blog est autorisé à enregistrer un commentaire.