mercredi 28 mars 2012

Miles Franklin Longlist

The Trust Company, as Trustee of The Franklin Fund, has announced the longlist for this year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award. From a pool of sixty-one entries, the judges have longlisted thirteen novels for the $50,000 prize.

The longlist comprises: Blood by Tony Birch, Spirit of Progress by Steven Carroll, Spirit House by Mark Dapin, The Precipice by Virginia Dugan, All That I Am by Anna Funder, Sarah Thornhill by Kate Grenville, Five Bells by Gail Jones, Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears, Autumn Laing by Alex Miller, Cold Light by Frank Moorhouse, Past the Shallows by Favel Parrett, The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman and Animal People by Charlotte Wood.

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, Professor Gillian Whitlock, Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow at the University of Queensland, noted the ‘strength of historical fiction in the contemporary novel’.

The 2012 shortlist will be announced on 3 May at the State Library of New South Wales with the winner announced at an award event at the State Library of Queensland on 20 June 2012.

To read the longlist media release, click here; for more information on the award in general, go to the Miles Franklin Literary Award website.

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire

Remarque : Seul un membre de ce blog est autorisé à enregistrer un commentaire.