vendredi 17 février 2012

Poets shortlisted for the Mary Gilmore Award 2010/2011

Six poets have been named on the short list for the prestigious prize, the Mary Gilmore Award, presented by ASAL for the best first book of poetry published by an Australian in the preceding two years. This prize has helped the careers of many now well-known poets, including Jan Owen, Judith Beveridge, Alison Croggon, Lucy Dougan, David McCooey.

The winner of the Mary Gilmore Award for 2010/2011 will be announced at the Association’s annual conference in Auckland, New Zealand in July 2012. This event draws together many of the people who organise the study of Australian poetry at universities, plus other writers, teachers, postgraduate students and librarians. The winning poet will have opportunities to meet with many of these people while at the conference.

The short list for the Mary Gilmore Award 2010/2011:
Warwick Anderson, Hard Cases, Brief Lives (Ginninderra)
Peter Coghill, Rockclimber’s Hands (Picaro)
Rosanna Licari, An Absence of Saints (UQP)
Vlanes, Another Babylon (UQP)
Chloe Wilson, The Mermaid Problem (APC)
Fiona Wright, Knuckled (Giramondo)

Judges for the 2010/2011 award are all associated with the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at Charles Sturt University in Australia. They include Dr Mark Macleod (Senior Lecturer in English), Dr Derek Motion (Director of Booranga Writers’ Centre) and Chair of the Mary Gilmore Award judging panel, Mr David Gilbey (Adjunct Senior Lecturer in English).

For further information please contact Mr David Gilbey, Chair of the Mary Gilmore Award judging panel and NSW ASAL Representative, at

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire

Remarque : Seul un membre de ce blog est autorisé à enregistrer un commentaire.